Saturday, 11 May 2013

The hunger games: Revisited!!!

PPN: (pre-post note): I am abandoning the three part Saturday lunch series, if I carry on with it you will surely get very... very bored!

At the moment I'm meant to read lots of books by certain authors for English, for a bookworm like me that sounded pretty good. So, like the idiot I am, I decided to start by reading 'Sense and Sensibility' by Jane Austen. In my head I was all: "Oooohhhh... She's a well respected legend of an author so her books are bound to be good!" How wrong I was... I am now about four months into reading sense and sensibility- yes you read that right: FOUR MONTHS! I have never taken that long to read a book in my life, and I'm still not finished. Apologies to anyone who absolutely adores her books but nothing happens. At all. They sit around, occasionally go to dances and slowly begin to fall in love with weirdos double their age. First: Boring! Secondly: Yuck!!!! So then I started another book, then another, then another. And then I was just drowning under a pile of half-finished long books. Then I took the logical decision: re-read an extremely long trilogy that I've already read but who cares?!?!

So, that's why I am writing to you about the hunger games. Any long-term readers of this blog will recall that, yonks ago, I wrote a short post about the brilliance of these books. As I read it now I realise I barely scratched the surface of Suzanne Collin's awesomeness. Therefore, my dear reader, I will now begin to write a much more in-depth analysis of this trilogy of wonderfulness! If you haven't read the books yet- don't worry; I will add a page break and warn you where the spoilers begin. Or- you can ignore my warning and read the whole post anyway (that's what I would do!).

First of all: What is the Hunger Games?
The Hunger Games is the title of the first book in a trilogy of the same name... I think that sentence make sense?!? They are written by Suzanne Collins for young adults (YA fiction). The main plot centres around Katniss Everdeen, a resident of district 12. Oh, now I have to explain the whole thing about the districts- WARNING: this will probably get quite confusing...
Actually, what district 6 does is not unknown- it specialises in transportation 
The Hunger Games is set in a post-apocalyptic version of North America. Just to give a reference point: district 12 is about where the Appalachia Mountains are located in real life and the capitol is around the Rocky Mountains. NOTE: The above map is fan-made and an estimate... 
 The capitol controls 12 districts (previously 13), each with their own purpose, the capitol is rich whilst the districts live in varying degrees of poverty. Seventy four years before the first book was set the districts held an uprising against the capitol which they lost- and the 13th district was destroyed. As a punishment for their actions the capitol forces each district to contribute one boy and one girl to fight to the death in an annual Hunger Games. 

 I am going to continue very soon. In the meantime- read the books!
Flo Jo xx


Post a Comment